Arizona Preliminary Notice Changes Coming December 2019!

Arizona Preliminary Notice Changes Coming December 2019!

We are often asked, “Do I have to serve an amended notice if my contract amount increases?” and, “If so, how much does my contract have to increase to warrant another notice?” Generally, we recommend serving an amended notice when your contract amount increases by 20% or more. This recommendation is based on case law, attorney recommendations, and specific statute, e.g., Arizona.

In fact, Arizona’s current statute specifically states a claimant only needs to serve one preliminary notice, unless its contract amount increases by 20% or more, then the claimant should amend its notice.

“A person required by this section to give notice…need give only one noticeunless the actual estimated total price for the labor, professional services, materials, machinery, fixtures or tools furnished or to be furnished exceeds by twenty per cent or more the total price in any prior original or subsequent preliminary notice…”

Soon “30″ Will Be the New “20″ in Arizona!

Earlier this month the Governor of Arizona signed HB1304 which updates the requirement for when an amended notice is required. For any projects where first furnishing occurs on or after 12/31/19, an amended notice will only be required if the contract amount increases by 30% or more.

“Effective for any projects where furnishings are first commenced to be furnished from and after 12-31-19, an additional notice will be required if the estimated total price for the furnishings exceeds by 30% or more the total price in a prior notice under the same contract.” – Legislative Update from The National Lien Digest

What Does This Mean for You?

Currently, under Arizona statute, if your original contract amount is $100,000 and a change order is issued increasing your contract to $120,000 (increased by 20%), you are required to serve an amended preliminary notice.

Arizona current statute

Here’s what it will look like at the end of December:

Arizona statute as of 12/31/19

Once the new statute is in effect, you may notice a decrease in the number of required amended notices; saving you time & money.

Most Recent Resources

Blog

Will Safe Harbor Ever Exist for Florida UCC Filings? Zero Tolerance

Safe Harbor couldn't save this UCC. Florida's 'zero tolerance' policy means you must strictly comply with Article 9-503(a). Learn more here!
Read More
white paper
White Paper

NCS Credit Lien Index 2022 Q3

The Lien Index increased 4 points in Q3 2022, an 11% climb over Q2 2022. As expected, Q3 mechanic's lien activity rose 11% over Q2, and activity remained lower than Q1, which peaked at 43. We anticipate the Index will increase 2%-5% in Q4. Download the full report for details.

Read More
live webinars
Live Webinar

The Basics of the UCC Process

Worried about customers filing bankruptcy? Concerned about extending credit to marginal accounts? UCC filings secure collateral in agreement with your customer’s promise to pay.
Read More